Where are you on your path to licensure?

Hello and welcome to the Black Spectacles ARE community!

Whether you are a seasoned professional getting back to testing after a long break or fresh out of school we would like to hear about where you are on your path to licensure. We are a community of licensed professionals and other testing candidates – let us know where you are at and what we can do to help!

*Which division(s) have you taken so far?
*Which division are you currently studying for?
*What objectives and topics do you wish were clearer?
*What advice do you have for others who may be struggling?

Let us know below

1 Like

I started studying for Programming and Analysis first. Does it matter what section you start first in test taking? I see there are no questions yet for P&A.

1 Like

Hey Jenna,

We’re just getting started so some of the divisions might not have posts quite yet.

Personally I’ve heard some folks recommend taking PPD & PDD first, and I’ve heard the same about the other divisions too. Curious to hear what others think.

Hello- I’m definitely an unusual case but wondering if there are others who have considered resuming licensure after a long hiatus. I completed the IDP process way back in 1997 or 1998 (most of you were probably in preschool!), passed a single section of the exam, then stopped to raise four kids, but always working in some capacity. It was always my intention to finish it up but I’ve had a nice design career without it- my own residential design firm- but always this nagging feeling that I didn’t finish what I started. I imagine that the exam is vastly different now than it was back then and curious if it’s worth looking into.

4 Likes

Hi Holly, and welcome!

First off, congrats on raising 4 kids while also owning your own design firm, that’s fantastic. As for the notion of moving forward with licensure, we have an article with some quotes from others in somewhat similar circumstances that might help.