My Road to Licensure

My road to licensure looks a bit different than the ‘average’ ARE candidate. I graduated from University of Colorado in 2015 with a BS Arch, which NCARB doesn’t view as a professional degree. After looking through graduate school options and talking with some grad students, I felt I would learn so much more in practice than I ever could in school. This was a frustrating realization, because I thought I wouldn’t be able to get my license in any quick, direct path due to only having a 4-year degree.

While pondering my path, I made the move from Colorado to Washington. This didn’t help me license-wise (both CO and WA require professional degrees or 2x AXP to test), but it did introduce me to a new firm filled with (mostly) supportive people. I started researching different ways to get licensed, and discovered I could test through a small handful of states, without being a resident, and without jumping through additional experience or degree hoops. Shortly after my move, I requested eligibility to test in the fine state of Wisconsin. I had never been to Wisconsin, never even flown through Wisconsin, but I was more than happy to pay them testing fees since they would allow me to test with my 4 year degree. Once I was approved to test, I started in on my studies.

I decided to start strong: PPD and PDD. I scheduled the tests back to back, with a month inbetween for studying. I was so confident and sure I was going to knock these out of the park until I saw FAIL in lovely red lettering twice in a row. I learned a lot about perseverance in those couple months, and how to drive a car while ugly crying. I reported my failing scores back to work only to have some management encourage me to ‘take some time before retesting’ and to ‘work in the field for another 5 years, then you might have a better shot at these’.